Botany - the study of plants


All living things are classified into groups. The largest group things can be classified into is a KINGDOM. There are 5 KINGDOMS that living organisms are classified into – the largest of which are animals and PLANTS.

The Five Kingdoms

Kingdoms are then split into smaller and smaller groups.

So, with respect to plants, they're first split into two large groups called VASCULAR and NON-VASCULAR PLANTS. These groups are so large they're actually referred to as SUBKINGDOMS.

NON-VASCULAR plants are quite simple and don't have a wide variety of different kinds of tissue in their structures. VASCULAR plants are far more sophisticated.

VASCULAR plants are split into two large groups [called SUPERDIVISIONS]. These groups are the SEED BEARING plants and the plants which reproduce using spores.

SEED BEARING plants are split into the phyla called the ANGIOSPERMS - or FLOWERING PLANTS - and the GYMNOSPERMS - which don't produce flowers.

There are two CLASSES within the ANGIOSPERM group. These are called the MONOCOTYLEDONS and the DICOTYLEDONS.

These classes have their own characteristics which can make them easy to identify from each other.